The SAC is an advisory body to the Board, advising on research priorities and following up on SEI’s scientific achievements.

Susan E OwensEmeritus Professor Susan E. Owens OBE, FAcSS, FBA (chair)

Department of Geography
University of Cambridge

Professor Kalpana Balakrishnan

Department of Environmental Health Engineering
Sri Ramachandra University

Professor Dr Frank Biermann

Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development
Utrecht University


Professor Diana Liverman

School of Geography and Development
University of Arizona

Professor Melissa Leach CBE FBA

Institute of Development Studies


Professor Margaret Chitiga-Mabugu

Faculty of Economics and Management Sciences
University of Pretoria